Shanghai is trying to kill me

More than 16,000 dead diseased pigs in the Huangpu river? The same river where the drinking water comes from?? That’s a whole lotta crazy even for you, Shanghai. The locals have a new name for the Huangpu now – Pork soup. Man, I don’t even know how to respond to that. And as if pigs were not enough, let’s throw in some ducks! More than 1000 dead ducks have been found in a river in the Sichuan province recently.  It’s so bizarre I can’t get my head around any of it.

Apart from dead-animal-juice-water, things are pretty drab around Shanghai. We have tiny bouts of warm weather amongst the otherwise chilly weeks. Two weeks ago we had one hot 21-degree Tuesday followed by 8 degrees the rest of the week.  Heavy smog is a constant on the horizon and blue skies remain but a metaphor.

Image

The cherry on the cake was a minor accident I had last Monday on the way to work. I was turning out of my compound on my electric scooter when a newspaper delivery guy came around the blind corner and I couldn’t swerve away in time. He clipped me on the side, sandwiching my ankle in between his bike and mine. I have a handsome bruise on my ankle but no serious damage. (I’m fine Mom, really!) The depressing thing was that the dude didn’t even come over to see if I was okay, even though I was obviously in pain, clutching at my ankle. He laughed nervously (yes laughed), muttered an apology and sped off. I shed tears of fury.

Screen Shot 2013-03-29 at 12.35.22 AM

Friends have been my salvation.  Hanging out with my girls (Nico and Teck Yen included) has been great. I’ve been getting my share of good food and great conversation. I’m going to keep waking up early to be as efficient as I can at work, so I can knock off at a decent hour and do stuff with my peng yous. I’m slightly more than halfway through my stint in Shanghai. I want to make the most of it – small group lunches, big group dinners, multiple coffees, a couple of house visits, one serious karaoke session and everything in between. I think the smart strategy is to drink less but also drink earlier! I need all my wits the next day to keep ticking things of the list.

Screen Shot 2013-03-29 at 12.35.00 AM

Screen Shot 2013-03-29 at 12.34.39 AM

Screen Shot 2013-03-29 at 12.34.47 AM

Screen Shot 2013-03-29 at 12.34.53 AM

Screen Shot 2013-03-29 at 12.35.07 AM

Screen Shot 2013-03-29 at 9.47.11 AM

Screen Shot 2013-03-29 at 12.34.25 AM

Back in Dali, my source aka husband has informed me that Phase 2 of our home renovation is underway. The old hole-of-a-kitchen and pigsty has been demolished, and they have started to lay the foundation for what is going to be our glorious ground-floor kitchen and second-floor studio. I am feeling regretful that I cannot be there during this exciting time but comforted that I couldn’t have a better man at the helm. Big kisses to Arthur, thanks for keeping the pace up and doing it alone.  I’ll be back before you know it.

Screen Shot 2013-03-29 at 12.35.44 AM

Screen Shot 2013-03-29 at 12.35.37 AM

Screen Shot 2013-03-29 at 12.35.29 AM

PS: I’ve been thinking, maybe we should get a goat. We’ll have milk, they’ll eat/ mow the grass, the cats will have a non-feline friend? Let’s discuss.

4 thoughts on “Shanghai is trying to kill me

  1. The goat !! It’s such a nice pet you know !!! very very sweet ! Get it.
    And, I hope you though about chicken for the fresh eggs ?

  2. i like how nico and teck yen are gf’s….hang in there lili – you’ve got the big finale coming up, consisting of doris big bday celebration, working on the wkd, your event, etc etc….a big send off back to the farm 😉

Leave a Reply

