Pomegranate Sorbet

It’s pomegranate season and we’ve got loads from our tree. After sharing them with the neighbours we’re still left with dozens.  I don’t fancy eating the fruit as it is to be honest, there are too many pits and I’m spitting more than I’m eating. So I prefer to make fresh juice.  Although rather labour intensive, it’s so refreshing and full of anti-oxidants. With 4 large pomegranates I get 1 glass of juice. I think we juice at least 30 pomegranates each time!

2013-09-07 13.57.02

With all this extra juice, it was the perfect time to try out one of our wedding gifts – the Magimix ice cream maker! With chilled juice, sugar syrup and egg whites, 20 minutes of freeze-churning later, we have sorbet! The flavour was so intense I can’t wait for the next batch of seasonal fruits to hit the market.

2013-09-07 14.00.54

frozen-sorbet

Here are some sites with recipes  I referred to:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/food/recipes/search?dishes%5B%5D=sorbet

http://www.tastespotting.com/search/sorbet/1

Leave a Reply

