My summer travels

I’ve been to so many weddings this summer I’m tempted to put down “Wedding Guest” under occupation on airport custom forms. But I’m far from complaining. I got to visit many new places, making it the most exciting year of travels for this lucky farmer. There were so many cool things and places, here are just some of my favourites.

1. Paris

La Grand Epicerie – Beautiful rows stacked full of fresh produce and french delicacies, I wander the aisles every time even if I don’t need to buy anything. Everything from pretty desserts to just plain old yoghurt seems so elegant and irresistible. It is the beauty queen of supermarkets and my kind of heaven. But beauty comes at a cost. Don’t be surprised if you walk out of there with just a handful of items and a much lighter wallet.

IMG_4028

Le Chemise – Our friends Edouard and Alix brought us to this gem of a bistro for dinner on a Tuesday night. It’s effortlessly trendy and chic and made me feel Parisien just by dining there. The service was great – friendly, efficient, smooth. I had the entire menu translated and recited back to me in English! The menu was not too big but the food presentation and taste was spot on.  I can’t wait to go back again.

IMG_4022

Les Art DecoratifsEvery time I visit Paris I go to a couple of museums. This time I visited Les Art Decoratifs for the first time and I really really liked it. Perhaps it was the way they cleverly presented 2 exhibitions in 1 – jewellers showed their most recent creations alongside the permanent exhibition featuring works from the Medieval + Renaissance to Modern + Contemporary and everything in between. It was extremely inspiring!

2013-10-10 16.53.04

2. Honfleur

Arthur and I drove for about 2 hours from Paris and reached this picturesque little town in Normandy. It is so quaint and sweet you feel like you stepped into a story book. The whimsical carousel by the water makes it even more fairy tale like.  It’s also a fishing port which means glorious seafood is on every menu. What’s there not to like? 🙂

IMG_4029

3. Douarnenez

My sister-in-law Isaure and I took a fabulous trip here together to attend the wedding of good friends, Claudia and Darius. The cobalt sea and commanding cliffs were breathtaking and their nuptials equally so. It was such an elegant wedding with scrumptious food in a super chic setting. We had so much fun with lots of laughs from beginning to end. There were 2 more highlights of this trip apart from the wedding. One was our first meal at a seaside cafe – scallops cooked in a mushroom cream sauce with rice and pea mash. We cannot forget this dish till today! And seond, a couple from London whom we met whilst eating this dish. They were wedding guests too and we became wedding BFFs and hung out all weekend. Whaddup’ Nicole and Stuart!

IMG_4027

4. Locronan

This little medieval town in Brittany, Northwest France, is voted second most beautiful town in France. (Said the parking attendant) It was one of the stops on our road trip with Isaure. It’s the kind of place where you try to capture the magic in photos, but not even the panoramic ones do it justice. You can also get Kouign Amann there, the famous cake of the region. It’s probably got a brick of butter in each slice but hey, life is meant to be sweet and you only live once.

IMG_4031

5. London

Saatchi Gallery –  It was my first time to London so we did all the sights – London Bridge, Tate Modern, Buckingham Palace etc. I particularly enjoyed visiting the Saatchi Gallery. It had very interesting contemporary pieces which made me smile. And it’s free!

IMG_4030

Daquise Polish Restaurant – The deco was simple bordering on lacking, no-frills straight forward yet very very cool. Much like the food. Everything felt and tasted so authentic with the chefs even coming table-side to prepare your tartare. With their smooth vodka it was the perfect place to celebrate the birthday and upcoming wedding of Arthur’s best mate, Charly, and it was a bonus that we also caught up with another nearlywed couple Max and Fi whom we hadn’t seen in ages. 

IMG_4026

6. Bali

My maiden trip to Bali was for my girlfriend Mel’s hen’s weekend. Needless to say it was fun-filled, alcohol-fuelled, sun-soaked weekend of laughs. We ate yummy local food at Made’s Warung, drank cocktails at the W and partied the night away in animal costumes no less for her Madagascar themed hen’s night. Highlight of the trip has to be the gorgeous Sentosa villa in Seminyak, big thanks to Juliet for the top notch accommodation!

IMG_4032

7. Sister’s Island, Singapore

It was off to Singapore for Mel’s wedding on Sister’s Island. It was a refreshing change to take a boat out to sea. It was a lovely, short and very sweet ceremony. The weather was kind and we didn’t sweat buckets in the outdoors, hallelujah! Highlight of the wedding was of course seeing my dear friend practically radiating joy but also the little personalised place cards at dinner provided some laughs and was a great touch.

2013-10-10 16.27.00

8. Florence, Italy

On the way to Charly and Emilie’s wedding in the countryside of Tuscany, my super mother-in-law Patricia planned a wonderful 1.5 day stopover in Florence for us and I enjoyed every minute of it. It was my first time in Italy so we did all the sights and museums and I ate buffalo mozzarella at almost every meal, it was heavenly. The wedding took place at Casamora villas and it was beautiful in every way from the blushing bride to the villa grounds. My 3 highlights of the wedding – the divine spread during cocktails complete with mozzarella bar (!!), the breathtaking dinner setting with flowers and candles aplenty and the Prada outlet at The Mall which was just 20 mins away.

2013-10-10 17.28.26

2013-10-10 17.33.07

So that wraps up my glorious summer, I could not have asked for more. I’m happy to be back in Dali with the kitties now and hopefully no more travelling for the rest of the year. We need to really push forward with the house renovations. The winter and Christmas (my ultimate deadline) are approaching and I want to cook Christmas dinner in a proper kitchen! Stay tuned for updates on the house!

2 thoughts on “My summer travels

Leave a Reply

