Apps and Soup

I’m not what you would call a tech-y person. I never remember what version of Mac OS I’m on, how much memory I have or how fast my processor is. The only computer shortcuts that I know are copy, paste and undo.  And I really don’t understand how this whole iCloud thing works. So imagine my glee when I introduced Arthur to my new App a few days ago which he thought was pretty awesome. So awesome that it would be unjust not to share. It’s called Transfer Pro and it’s an App that lets you easily transfer photos and videos wirelessly between iPhone, iPad and computer. No more stupid cables and user-unfriendly iPhoto!

So Arthur went to download it but came back to say that it was not a free App. I realised then that I was able to download it free because of ANOTHER App that I use – Apps Gone Free. This App gives you the low down on the week’s best Apps, including some that are free for only a limited amount of time. Oh my god. How savvy am I. Check them out if you haven’t yet. If you know about them already just hush and let me bask in my new found tech-glory.

In the meantime, our soup diet continues…

#3 Zucchini and Coriander Soup with Parmesan

Greenveg

inpot

cheese

  • Melt a knob of butter in a pot and stir fry half an onion
  • Chuck in roughly chopped coriander and fry until fragrant
  • Skin and slice two zucchinis and add to the pan. Fry until very soft.
  • Add one chopped potato, one green chilli (without seeds for subtle heat) and half a cucumber (just because I had it) and cover with water or stock. Boil until potatoes are soft and liquidize.
  • Return to the pot and heat over small fire. Add shredded parmesan and cream if desired.

#4 Singaporean Bak Kut Teh with a twist

Bak Kut Teh is a famous Singapore dish which is basically pork ribs in a special herbal soup. I’ve added vegetables and tofu to make it more healthy in my mind!

packet

boiling

INgrdients

soup

  • Add 500g of pork ribs, 10 pieces of garlic, handful of dried mushrooms, 1500ml of water in a pot and a Seah’s Spices Bak Kut Teh sachet. Boil for 30mins until pork ribs are pretty tender.
  • Add 2 chopped up carrots and half a turnip into the pot. Boil for another 20mins until vegetables are soft.
  • Add dark soy sauce and pepper to taste
  • Add fresh tofu (cubed) and boil for last ten mins
  • Garnish with chopped up mint, coriander and spring onions before serving

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Apps and Soup

  1. I love your recipes ,your pictures , your comments, so clear, so easy…a way to remember your kitchen and imagine 2 of you sharing this ba kuh teh…
    Next week in Paris I’ll try with the spices sachet I bought in KK.
    I hope it will be as good as Seah sachet.

Leave a Reply

